Good morning all, apologies for the delay but its here now.

We have witnessed in the two semi finals, some quite remarkable performances and unexpected outcomes.

In Wednesday's game I was so impressed with Portugal who in my opinion on the balance of play deserved to go through. They really gave Spain a game. It was only in the second period of extra time that Spain really began to take advantage of some tired legs. 

The surprise inclusion of Negredo for Spain was clearly the wrong move. He was woeful, not really sure as to why he was included. I am confused by Del Bosque's reluctance to use Llorente, especially bearing in mind the season he has had. In fact it has been strange that he often has gone without a striker at all. However who I am to judge as Spain are in the final. So they cant be that bad. 

Portugal really did not allow the Spanish to play and pressed them all over the pitch. They forced Spain to change it up, with Fabregas who has had an effective tournament for Spain coming on to score the deciding Penalty.

I really felt sorry for Ronaldo as he watched his side go out on penalties. He should have stepped up earlier and not waited for the glory of scoring the last penalty. In truth the game had few chances and Spain have not been conceding many and gave little away in this one. I think Portugal's lack of a decent striker has cost them again. Almeida just is not good enough to trouble the likes of Ramos and Pique. So Spain march on and look to set to make history if they retain the European championships.

Germany are out!. I have to say I was shocked by this one. Even though I was talking with someone about Italy's chances prior to the game, and they did say they thought Italy would progress but I did not hold out much hope to be honest. Guess I was wrong. Super Mario stepped up and how. Love him or hate him he is super talented and proved on the biggest stage of his career to date his ability. Two great finishes from Balotelli. Both with great movement to get himself into the positions to take his chances.

Germany really do seem to be unable to break this pattern of losing against Italy. It just goes to show how much of football is often in the mind. They were unlucky but the german public will be very unforgiving as they were fully expected to reach the final. For me I have never been convinced by Boateng and Badstuber at the back for Germany. They in my opinion are not the greatest defenders and against a half decent centre forward always struggle. I thought that when Boateng was at City, he can be rash and clumsy at times.

A lot of people seem to be surprised by the form of Andrea Pirlo but like I have said before he has always been a world class player but just became stale at Milan. His move to Juventus has revitalised him. The way in which he glides and floats his passes all over the pitch looks so effortless. He is awareness and positional sense is second to none. Great players always have time on the ball. Despite attempts to mark him he still is able to find time and space to pick a pass. 

So Spain will meet Italy in the final with Italy having exceeded expectations hugely to reach this point. I firmly believe they can go on and win it now. They are a nation who knows how to win major tournaments. My gut feeling is Spain will triump



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    James Narine - Always just wanted to talk about football and I am passionate about the game.

    Archives

    July 2012
    June 2012

    Categories

    All