Spain vs. Portugal

What a tasty encounter we have in prospect. The rivalry between these two neighbours is fierce and add to that Ronaldo, Pepe and Coentrao up against loads of Barcelona players. This one could explode. I would not be suprised if a few players saw red tonight. My worry is the game will become all about who can get an opposition player sent off. So do not be suprised to see lots of players rolling around after being tackled, as well as players from both teams surrounding the ref and demanding cards be shown. It would be a shame with so much attacking flair and talent on display to be talking about anything other than football at the end of the game.
 
It is a huge game for Ronaldo who could potentially single handedly take his team through to the final. He can leave his make in history if Portugal are able to overcome the Spanish. I really hope he does. 

I think the Spanish will just edge this one. They have so much depth, and I can see them dominating possession. If Portugal do not take the chances that come their way on the break then, Spain will eventually break and wear the Portugeese down. Particulalry in midfield Spain have so much and up against Portugals three, who have been good so far this tournament but I fear they are hopelessly out gunned here and ultimately I believe this will prove to be the deciding factor in this one. I shall be rooting for Portugal though as I have very much fallen out of love with Spain, who have become quite boring in this tournament. And in football you just never know what can happen!

Till next time...



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    James Narine - Always just wanted to talk about football and I am passionate about the game.

    Archives

    July 2012
    June 2012

    Categories

    All